Jumbo reverse mortgage lenders: HomeSafe, Platinum and SecureEquity
Last updated 2026-10-12 · 11 sources
Proprietary jumbo programs in the United States in 2026 include HomeSafe (Finance of America Reverse, NMLS #2285), Longbridge Platinum (Longbridge Financial, NMLS #957935), and SecureEquity (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, NMLS #1025894). A fourth program, Equity Elite, stopped when Reverse Mortgage Funding paused all new loans and filed for Chapter 11 on November 30, 2022 (RMF first-day declaration, Bankr. D. Del.); aggregator pages that still list it as active are out of date.
This page lists these three alphabetically by program slug and shows what each lender publishes on its own product page. It is not a ranking. Per FTC review-as-endorsement guidance, ordering a list by anything other than alphabet would imply a comparison this site has not performed.
What does "jumbo lender" mean in this market?
A jumbo reverse mortgage lender is a private institution that originates a non-FHA reverse mortgage under its own program rules. The product covers home values above the FHA HECM lending limit ($1,249,125 for 2026 case numbers under HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22), with loans up to $4M at HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum, and SecureEquity (each lender's product page). The $4M figure is a loan cap, not a home-value cap; the underlying property can be worth more.
The market has consolidated. The failure of Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC (Chapter 11 petition filed November 30, 2022, U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of Delaware, case 22-11224 (RMF LLC, jointly administered under lead case 22-11225)) ended its Equity Elite program, which it had offered since 2018 (RMF first-day declaration).
The active programs
HomeSafe
Finance of America Reverse (FAR) · NMLS #2285
| Minimum age | 55 on certain products; 60 in MA, NY and WA; 62 in NC and TX |
|---|---|
| Maximum loan | Up to $4M on certain products |
| Payout modes | Lump sum, monthly payouts, line of credit, or a mix |
| Rate type | Fixed or variable |
| MIP | None |
| Counseling | Not stated on Finance of America's product page |
| State availability | Certain states only; ask Finance of America for the current list |
Source: Finance of America, HomeSafe product page, checked 2026-10-07.
We earn a commission if you apply through this link. This does not affect the price you pay or the terms you receive.
Apply for HomeSafe with Finance of America Reverse →
Longbridge Platinum
Longbridge Financial · NMLS #957935
| Minimum age | 55 in select states only; higher minimums may apply |
|---|---|
| Maximum loan | Up to $4M ($2M in Massachusetts) |
| Payout modes | Lump sum, line of credit |
| Rate type | Fixed (single lump sum) or adjustable (all other payout options) |
| MIP | None |
| Counseling | Not stated on Longbridge's product page |
| State availability | Not available in all states; check with Longbridge |
What makes this program distinctive: The Platinum Preserve option, on certain fixed-rate products in certain states, lets a borrower set aside 10–40% of the home's equity for later needs or heirs (Longbridge Platinum product page). The terms are program-specific and worth comparing line-by-line against HomeSafe and SecureEquity before signing.
Source: Longbridge Financial, Longbridge Platinum product page, checked 2026-10-07.
We earn a commission if you apply through this link. This does not affect the price you pay or the terms you receive.
Apply for Longbridge Platinum with Longbridge Financial →
SecureEquity
Mutual of Omaha Reverse · NMLS #1025894
| Minimum age | 55; some states set a higher minimum |
|---|---|
| Maximum loan | $4M |
| Payout modes | Lump sum, line of credit |
| Rate type | Not stated on Mutual of Omaha's product page |
| MIP | None |
| Counseling | Not stated on Mutual of Omaha's product page |
| State availability | Most US states; check Mutual of Omaha Reverse disclosure pages for current list |
What makes this program distinctive: The Mutual of Omaha name. Mutual of Omaha incorporated in 1909 (Mutual of Omaha company profile); the lender on a SecureEquity loan is Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, and the loan is not insured by the FHA (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page).
Source: Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity product page and jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page, checked 2026-10-07.
We earn a commission if you apply through this link. This does not affect the price you pay or the terms you receive.
Apply for SecureEquity with Mutual of Omaha Reverse →
Discontinued: Equity Elite (Reverse Mortgage Funding)
Equity Elite was Reverse Mortgage Funding's proprietary jumbo program, offered since 2018. RMF paused all new loans and filed Chapter 11 on November 30, 2022 (U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of Delaware, case 22-11224 (RMF LLC, jointly administered under lead case 22-11225); RMF first-day declaration). Pages on third-party aggregator sites that still list Equity Elite as an active jumbo program are out of date.
How to evaluate the three programs
The programs share some core parameters: loans up to $4M, a minimum age as low as 55 in some states, no mortgage insurance premium, and lump-sum or line-of-credit payouts (each lender's product page). The differences live below the surface, in contract language and lender behavior. The factors a borrower compares in practice:
Rate quote on the exact draw structure
A binding rate requires a lender quote on the specific borrower's age, home value, and draw amount. The three programs will not quote the same rate for the same borrower.
Re-appraisal and value-protection language
Longbridge Platinum's named Preserve option is an equity set-aside rather than an appraisal feature: on certain fixed-rate products, the borrower can set aside 10–40% of the home's equity for later needs or heirs (Longbridge Platinum product page). HomeSafe and SecureEquity set their own contract terms. Read the specific clause before signing.
Non-borrowing spouse protection
HECM's eligible non-borrowing spouse rule (HUD ML 2015-15) does not transfer to jumbo. Each program handles a younger spouse on the title differently. A borrower with a younger spouse should require the lender to walk through the specific contract language.
Issuer solvency signal
Longbridge says Platinum is a non-recourse loan: the lender cannot hold you or your heirs personally liable if the balance exceeds the home's value (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page). Finance of America says HomeSafe borrowers or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when the loan becomes due and the home is sold (Finance of America, HomeSafe page). Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity page does not address it. Parent-company financial strength is a relevant data point in a way it would not be on an FHA-insured HECM.
State availability
Not every program is offered in every state. The three lenders maintain disclosure pages with state-by-state availability; check the current list against the borrower's state before requesting a quote.
This site does not score or rank the programs against each other. A HUD-approved counselor can run quote scenarios across all three and produce a borrower-specific comparison.
Where to go next
- The HECM-vs-jumbo comparison has its own page in the jumbo section.
- The jumbo overview page covers jumbo reverse mortgages as a whole.
- The full per-program parameter cards are on the HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity program pages.
- HUD counseling is covered in the reverse mortgage counseling guide.
- The full affiliate-link policy and FTC disclosure framework are on the disclosures page.
Sources
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22: 2026 FHA HECM lending limit ($1,249,125), effective Jan 1, 2026 (defines the threshold above which jumbo applies)
- Finance of America: HomeSafe product page, NMLS #2285 (loans up to $4 million and minimum age 55 for certain products; 60 in MA, NY and WA, 62 in NC and TX; lump sum, monthly payouts, line of credit or a mix; fixed or variable rates; no mortgage insurance premiums; only available in certain states; borrower or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when it is sold), checked 2026-10-07
- Longbridge Financial: Longbridge Platinum product page, NMLS #957935 (loan amounts up to $4 million, $2 million in Massachusetts; age 55 in select states only; fixed-rate loans pay a single lump sum, other payout options adjustable-rate only; Platinum Preserve 10-40% equity set-aside; no mortgage insurance premiums; non-recourse; not available in all states), checked 2026-10-07
- Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: SecureEquity product page, NMLS #1025894 (loan amounts up to $4 million; lump sum or line of credit; as young as 55, higher in some states), checked 2026-10-07
- Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page (SecureEquity borrows up to $4 million; not insured by the FHA; no mortgage insurance premium), checked 2026-10-07
- Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC: Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition, U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of Delaware, case 22-11224 (RMF LLC, jointly administered under lead case 22-11225), filed Nov 30, 2022
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2015-15: eligible non-borrowing spouse protections (HECM only; does not transfer to jumbo)
- 12 USC §1715z-20: statutory non-recourse protection for HECM borrowers (contextual; does not apply to jumbo)
- FTC 16 CFR Part 465: Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising (governs affiliate-link disclosure and ranking-as-endorsement framework)
- Mutual of Omaha: company profile and timeline (incorporated in 1909 as Mutual Benefit Health & Accident Association)
- Declaration of Tanya Meerovich, Chief Restructuring Officer, in support of the Reverse Mortgage Investment Trust Chapter 11 filings, Bankr. D. Del. case 22-11225, Doc. 45, filed December 1, 2022 (Equity Elite proprietary product since 2018; all new originations paused)