mortgagereversal.co

SecureEquity reverse mortgage: program parameters and what they mean

Last reviewed 2026-10-12 · 11 sources

SecureEquity is the proprietary (non-FHA) reverse mortgage of Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc. (NMLS #1025894), built for homeowners with high-value properties (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). The product carries the Mutual of Omaha name; Mutual of Omaha incorporated in 1909 (Mutual of Omaha company profile). On a loan without FHA insurance, the company behind the lender is worth weighing. This page is a parameter card with sourcing, not a review. The headline numbers are below; the prose explains how to read them.

What is SecureEquity?

SecureEquity is a proprietary reverse mortgage offered by Mutual of Omaha Mortgage for homeowners with high-value properties (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). It is not insured by the FHA and carries no mortgage insurance premium (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page). It competes with the HECM for borrowers whose home value exceeds the FHA lending limit, and with Finance of America's HomeSafe and Longbridge Platinum above that limit. Its distinctive feature is the parent-company name: Mutual of Omaha incorporated in 1909 (Mutual of Omaha company profile), and on a loan without FHA insurance, the company behind the lender is part of what you rely on.

Published parameters

Minimum borrower ageAs young as 55; some states set a higher minimum
Maximum loan amountUp to $4,000,000
Payout optionsLump sum or line of credit
Interest rate typeFixed-rate and adjustable-rate versions (Mutual's SecureEquity rate sheet)
Rate rangeNot published on the SecureEquity product page; ask for a quote
Mortgage insurance premiumNone (not FHA-insured)
CounselingNot stated on Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity page; ask the lender
Non-recourse protectionNot stated on Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity page; read the loan documents
State availabilityNot offered in every state; Massachusetts and New York are not on Mutual's approved-state list
Distinctive program featureParent-company brand strength on a non-FHA-insured product (issuer-solvency signal)

Source: Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: SecureEquity product page and SecureEquity rate sheet · last verified 2026-10-07

What "$4M cap" means

The $4 million figure caps the loan amount, not the home's value: Mutual says SecureEquity offers "loan amounts up to $4 million," and the home is appraised to set the available loan amount (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page).

The age rule and where it changes

Mutual says a SecureEquity borrower can be as young as 55, and that "due to state restrictions, some states have a higher minimum age than 55" (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). The page does not list those states, so confirm the minimum age for your state before applying.

SecureEquity is also not offered everywhere. Mutual's SecureEquity rate sheet, effective September 9, 2026, lists its approved states, and Massachusetts and New York are not on it (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity rate sheet). The state age rules often quoted for jumbo loans (60 in Massachusetts, New York, and Washington; 62 in North Carolina and Texas) are Finance of America's published rules for HomeSafe (Finance of America, HomeSafe program page).

Why parent-company brand matters here

On a federally-insured HECM, the lender's solvency does not directly affect non-recourse protection: it is statutory under 12 USC §1715z-20 and backed by FHA insurance. SecureEquity is not insured by the FHA (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page), so any protection it gives comes from the loan documents and the lender, not from federal insurance. If the lender becomes insolvent mid-loan, that protection becomes a creditor-claim question rather than a federal-statute one. The most recent precedent is Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC, which paused all new loans, including its Equity Elite jumbo, and filed Chapter 11 on November 30, 2022 (RMF first-day declaration, Bankr. D. Del.).

Mutual of Omaha incorporated in 1909 (Mutual of Omaha company profile). A long company history does not replace federal insurance, and the lender on a SecureEquity loan is Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc., not the insurance company itself.

Rate, draw, and payout structure

Mutual says SecureEquity pays a lump sum or sets up a line of credit (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). Its rate sheet effective September 9, 2026 lists fixed-rate versions (SecureEquity Fixed and SecureEquity Fixed Plus) and an adjustable-rate version (SecureEquity ARM) (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity rate sheet). The product page does not say which payout goes with which rate type, or how an unused line of credit changes over time, so ask the lender.

The product page publishes no rate. A borrower comparing SecureEquity to a HECM, or to other jumbo programs, should request quotes on the same age, home value, and draw structure, then compare net cash after closing costs.

Non-recourse and what backs it

Federal HECM non-recourse protection is statutory (12 USC §1715z-20). Mutual's SecureEquity page does not describe non-recourse protection or what heirs pay to keep the home, so read the loan documents on both points before signing. By contrast, Longbridge states on its product page that Longbridge Platinum is non-recourse (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page).

When SecureEquity makes sense vs. when it does not

SecureEquity fits when the home is worth well above the $1,249,125 FHA HECM limit (HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22, effective January 1, 2026); the borrower wants a lump sum or a line of credit; the borrower weighs the Mutual of Omaha name as part of the lender choice on a loan without FHA insurance; and the borrower accepts giving up FHA insurance and statutory non-recourse to reach the equity above the HECM cap.

SecureEquity does not fit when the home is at or below the FHA limit (HECM uses the full appraised value up to the cap, so there is no equity left on the table to recover); the borrower wants the HECM line-of-credit growth feature; the borrower lives in a state Mutual does not approve for SecureEquity, such as Massachusetts or New York, or is under the state's minimum age; or the borrower wants the MIP-funded HUD insurance backstop in a declining market.

How SecureEquity compares to HomeSafe and Longbridge Platinum

A side-by-side comparison of HomeSafe (Finance of America), Longbridge Platinum (Longbridge Financial), and SecureEquity is on the jumbo overview page. All three advertise loans up to $4 million and minimum ages as young as 55 in some states (each lender's product page). They differ on the state rules they publish, on payout options, and on program-specific options such as Longbridge's Platinum Preserve equity set-aside. Compare the contract language, not the marketing.

A fourth program, Equity Elite, is sometimes still listed by aggregator sites. It stopped when Reverse Mortgage Funding paused all new loans and filed for Chapter 11 on November 30, 2022 (RMF first-day declaration, Bankr. D. Del.).

Apply for SecureEquity through Mutual of Omaha Reverse →

What sets SecureEquity apart is the name behind it: Mutual of Omaha incorporated in 1909 (Mutual of Omaha company profile), and the loan carries no FHA insurance. For borrowers who weigh the parent company when choosing a lender for an uninsured loan, that is the differentiator. Calculator inputs and outputs: the calculator. The broader HECM-vs-jumbo decision tree is at HECM vs. jumbo; the jumbo programs are summarized in the jumbo overview. Counseling guidance: the counseling guide. Affiliate-link standard: our disclosures page.

FAQ

Who issues SecureEquity?

SecureEquity is offered by Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc. (NMLS #1025894) (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). The lender is Mutual of Omaha's mortgage company, not the insurance company directly.

What is the minimum age for SecureEquity?

As young as 55, but Mutual says some states set a higher minimum age because of state restrictions, and its page does not list them. SecureEquity is not offered in Massachusetts or New York, which are not on Mutual's approved-state list (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page and rate sheet).

How does Mutual of Omaha's brand affect the product?

It is an issuer-solvency signal rather than a product feature. SecureEquity carries no FHA insurance, so the borrower relies on the loan documents and the lender instead of federal insurance. Mutual of Omaha incorporated in 1909 (Mutual of Omaha company profile).

Is SecureEquity FHA-insured?

No. Mutual describes SecureEquity as a proprietary reverse mortgage that is not insured by the FHA and carries no mortgage insurance premium (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page). Statutory non-recourse under 12 USC §1715z-20 applies to HECMs; Mutual's SecureEquity page does not describe non-recourse terms, so read the loan documents.

Can I get SecureEquity on a manufactured home?

Property eligibility on proprietary jumbo programs is set by each lender, not by HUD's HECM property rules. Mutual's SecureEquity page says the program is for owners of high-value homes that exceed FHA loan limits and does not address manufactured homes, so ask the lender before applying.

Sources

  1. Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc., NMLS #1025894: company licensing and identifier (NMLS Consumer Access)
  2. Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: SecureEquity product page (proprietary reverse mortgage for high-value homes; loan amounts up to $4 million; lump sum or line of credit; as young as 55, higher in some states), retrieved 2026-10-07
  3. Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: SecureEquity rate sheet effective September 9, 2026 (Fixed, Fixed Plus and ARM versions; approved states), retrieved 2026-10-07
  4. HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22: 2026 FHA HECM lending limit ($1,249,125), effective January 1, 2026
  5. 12 USC §1715z-20: statutory non-recourse protection for federal HECM borrowers (basis for the HECM-vs-jumbo non-recourse comparison)
  6. Mutual of Omaha: company profile and timeline (incorporated in 1909 as Mutual Benefit Health & Accident Association)
  7. Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC: Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition, U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of Delaware, case 22-11224 (RMF LLC, jointly administered under lead case 22-11225), filed November 30, 2022 (Equity Elite discontinuation context + jumbo issuer-risk precedent)
  8. Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page (SecureEquity borrows up to $4 million; not insured by the FHA; no mortgage insurance premium; as young as 55 in some cases)
  9. Finance of America: HomeSafe program page (loans up to $4 million for certain products; minimum age 55, or 60 in MA, NY and WA and 62 in NC and TX)
  10. Longbridge Financial: Longbridge Platinum product page (Platinum is a non-recourse loan)
  11. Declaration of Tanya Meerovich, Chief Restructuring Officer, in support of the Reverse Mortgage Investment Trust Chapter 11 filings, Bankr. D. Del. case 22-11225, Doc. 45, filed December 1, 2022 (Equity Elite proprietary product since 2018; all new originations paused)