A HECM is the federal Home Equity Conversion Mortgage, insured by FHA and capped at a $1,249,125 lending limit for 2026 case numbers (HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22). A jumbo reverse mortgage is a privately-issued, non-FHA loan with a $4M cap on the loan principal. The two products share a basic structure (no required monthly payment; due-and-payable on a maturity event; non-recourse) and differ on almost everything else. The matrix below is the centerpiece of this page; the per-row sections that follow explain what each difference means in practice.
Last reviewed
The comparison matrix
| Dimension | HECM (federal) | Jumbo (private) |
|---|---|---|
| Issuer / insurer | FHA-insured; HUD-regulated under the National Housing Act | Issued and held by a private lender; no federal insurance |
| Lending limit (2026 case numbers) | $1,249,125 (HUD ML 2025-22) | Up to $4M loan cap; home value uncapped |
| Minimum borrower age | 62 (statutory) | As young as 55 in some states, set by each lender; HomeSafe requires 60 in MA, NY and WA and 62 in NC and TX (Finance of America, HomeSafe page) |
| Mortgage insurance premium (MIP) | 2.0% upfront on max-claim amount + 0.5% annual on outstanding balance (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.10) | None |
| HUD counseling | Required before the lender processes the application (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.1) | Not stated on the HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum or SecureEquity product pages; ask the lender |
| Payout modes | Lump sum, line of credit, tenure, term, modified tenure, modified term | Lump sum or line of credit; HomeSafe also offers monthly payouts or a mix (each lender's product page) |
| Interest rate type | Variable common (1Y CMT or SOFR index); fixed offered on lump-sum draws only | Fixed or adjustable, by lender and option; a fixed-rate Longbridge Platinum loan pays one lump sum (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) |
| Inheritance / heirs' redemption | 6 months after due-and-payable, plus up to two 90-day extensions (HUD ML 2015-10) | Lender-specific; commonly 6 months, varies by program contract |
| Closing costs (typical range) | 2% upfront MIP on the maximum claim amount (HUD Mortgagee Letter 2017-12), origination capped at $6,000 (24 CFR §206.31), plus third-party fees | No MIP; origination and third-party fees set by the lender |
| Financial assessment | Required (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.6): credit, residual income, tax-and-insurance history | Required; lender-specific bar, generally lower documentation than a forward mortgage |
| Non-recourse protection | Statutory (12 USC §1715z-20) | Longbridge states Platinum is non-recourse; Finance of America says HomeSafe borrowers or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when it is sold; not stated on Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity page |
| Non-borrowing spouse protection | Eligible non-borrowing spouse protections (HUD ML 2015-15) | Program-specific contract language; HECM protections do not transfer |
Sources: Jumbo cells that name a lender come from that lender's product page (HomeSafe / Finance of America; Longbridge Platinum / Longbridge Financial; SecureEquity / Mutual of Omaha Mortgage), checked 2026-10-07. They are not a federal standard and will vary lender-to-lender. HECM parameters are federal and apply uniformly across HUD-approved lenders.
Lending limit: the $1.25M ceiling vs. the $4M loan cap
The single largest functional difference between the two products is the limit. HECM uses the FHA HECM lending limit as the cap on the appraised value it will count when calculating the principal limit. For 2026 case numbers the limit is $1,249,125 (HUD ML 2025-22, effective January 1, 2026). A home worth $1.6M, $2.5M, or $4M can still take out a HECM, but the principal limit is calculated as if the home were worth $1,249,125. Equity above the cap sits idle inside HECM.
Jumbo caps the loan, not the home. HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity each lend up to $4M (Finance of America, HomeSafe page; Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page; Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). A home worth $6M with a 30% loan-to-value jumbo draws $1.8M, well under the cap. A home worth $6M targeting the maximum draw is capped at $4M, leaving $2M of unencumbered equity. Cached marketing copy that frames $4M as a "home value cap" is incorrect.
The practical break-even between the two products tracks home value: at or below the FHA limit, HECM uses the full appraisal; above the limit, the marginal equity captured shifts the math toward jumbo. The exact crossover depends on age, expected rate, and which lender is quoting.
Minimum age: 62 vs. 55 (with state and program exceptions)
HECM has a single statutory minimum age of 62 (National Housing Act §255). Every borrower on the note must meet it. A younger non-borrowing spouse can be designated as an "eligible non-borrowing spouse" under HUD ML 2015-15 and gain deferral protections, but is not on the loan.
Jumbo programs can admit borrowers as young as 55 in some states. Each lender sets its own state exceptions:
- HomeSafe: minimum age 60 in Massachusetts, New York and Washington, and 62 in North Carolina and Texas (Finance of America, HomeSafe page).
- Longbridge Platinum: as young as 55 in select states only; higher minimum ages may apply (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page).
- SecureEquity: as young as 55, though some states set a higher minimum age (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page).
The age-55 entry is the largest behavioral wedge for the jumbo product. A borrower aged 55–61 with a high-value home and no federal-eligibility option finds jumbo to be the only available reverse mortgage. The HECM eligible-non-borrowing-spouse protection does not transfer; jumbo contracts handle spouse protection individually and the language varies program-to-program.
MIP: 2.5% combined HECM exposure vs. none
HECM carries mortgage insurance premiums. The structure (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.10):
- Upfront MIP: 2.0% of the maximum claim amount, paid at closing and financeable into the loan.
- Annual MIP: 0.5% of the outstanding loan balance, accruing annually.
The combined exposure on a $500,000 max-claim HECM is $10,000 upfront plus 0.5% accruing on a growing balance. Over the life of a loan that compounds for 15–20 years, MIP is the second-largest cost driver after the note rate itself.
Jumbo carries no MIP. Lenders do not pay it (they are not FHA-insured) and do not pass an equivalent charge through. The MIP-vs.-margin trade-off rarely produces a clean answer; it depends on home value, draw structure, and time the loan stays open.
HUD counseling: federally mandated vs. set by the lender
HECM requires HUD counseling before the lender processes the application or charges fees (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.1). The session is conducted by a HUD-approved counselor and produces a certificate the lender must receive before processing the application. HUD requires a session of at least 60 minutes (HUD Handbook 7610.1) but sets no fixed fee. Each agency charges its own reasonable fee and must disclose it at intake; a borrower with income below 200% of the federal poverty level pays nothing at the session, though the agency may collect the fee at closing (HUD Mortgagee Letter 2011-09). The counselor walks through obligations, cost projections, and alternatives.
Jumbo is not federally mandated to require counseling. The HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity product pages do not say whether counseling is required, so ask the lender. The legal posture is different: HUD counseling under HECM is a federal protection, while for a jumbo it depends on the lender and the state. In Texas, every reverse mortgage, jumbo included, requires the borrower and spouse to attest in writing that they received counseling (Tex. Const. art. XVI, §50(k)(8)).
Payout modes: full suite vs. lender-set options
HECM offers six draw structures: lump sum, line of credit, tenure (monthly payments for life), term (monthly payments for a fixed period), modified tenure (LOC plus lifetime monthly), and modified term (LOC plus term monthly). The LOC structure includes a growth feature unique to HECM: unused LOC grows at the note rate plus the 0.5% annual MIP rate, compounding the available borrowing capacity over time.
Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity offer a lump sum or a line of credit; HomeSafe adds monthly payouts or a mix of all three (each lender's product page). The HECM LOC growth feature is not replicated. For a borrower whose primary value driver is the growing LOC, HECM is structurally the better fit independent of home value.
Rate type: variable common vs. fixed or adjustable
HECM rates skew variable. The standard adjustable-rate HECM is indexed to either the 1-year Constant Maturity Treasury (1Y CMT) or 30-day Secured Overnight Financing Rate (SOFR), plus the lender's margin. Fixed-rate HECM is available only on lump-sum draws (HUD's restriction; fixed-rate HECMs cannot use LOC, tenure, or term).
Jumbo lenders offer both. HomeSafe comes with fixed or variable rates (Finance of America, HomeSafe page). A fixed-rate Longbridge Platinum loan pays a single lump sum, and its other payout options are adjustable-rate only (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page). The rate-type difference matters most in rising-rate environments (a fixed jumbo locks the cost; a variable HECM moves with the index) and in falling-rate environments (the inverse). A counselor running both calculations should show the rate-scenario sensitivity, not just the point quote.
Inheritance: 6-month federal timeline vs. lender contract
When a HECM borrower dies or permanently leaves the home, the loan becomes due. Heirs have 6 months to sell, refinance, or repay (HUD ML 2015-10), with up to two 90-day extensions if they are actively marketing the property. Federal non-recourse protection means heirs owe the lesser of the loan balance or 95% of the appraised value; they can walk away from underwater loans without personal liability.
Jumbo inheritance is governed by the loan contract, not federal regulation. Redemption timelines, extensions and non-recourse language vary by program and must be read in the specific note. The federal non-recourse statute does not apply. Longbridge states that Platinum is non-recourse (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page), and Finance of America says HomeSafe borrowers or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when it is sold (Finance of America, HomeSafe page); Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity page does not say.
How do you choose between them?
Neither product dominates. Use the matrix above as the decision framework, weighted by which dimensions matter most to the specific borrower. The home value question is the cleanest screen: at or below $1.25M, HECM uses the full appraisal and the marginal benefit of jumbo collapses; above $2M, jumbo captures equity that HECM leaves on the table. Between $1.25M and $2M, the answer depends on age, draw structure, and the rate environment.
The age question is the next-cleanest screen: 55–61 means jumbo or nothing. The MIP-vs.-margin question is the messiest; the only way to resolve it is to run both calculations side-by-side with current quotes. A HUD-approved counselor can produce both numbers in a single session.
The per-program parameter cards for HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity are on the jumbo lenders page. The jumbo overview page covers the category as a whole, and the HECM calculator runs the federal-program numbers.
See methodologyFAQ
Is jumbo always more expensive than HECM?
Not always. Jumbo carries no MIP (HECM's 2.0% upfront + 0.5% annual under HUD Mortgagee Letter 2017-12 is a meaningful cost), and the note rate depends on each lender's quote. Net cost depends on home value, draw structure, and how long the loan stays open. A counselor running both quotes side-by-side is the only reliable answer.
Can I switch from HECM to jumbo later?
Refinancing from one to the other is possible but uncommon. Closing costs reset, so the gain has to exceed them. The standard advice is to pick the right product at origination, not plan to convert.
Why isn't there a single answer to 'which is better'?
Because the two products solve different problems. HECM is optimized for federal protection and LOC growth; jumbo is optimized for high home values and younger entry. The 'better' product depends on the borrower's age, home value, draw preference, and risk tolerance.
Does jumbo's $4M cap mean my home can't be worth more than $4M?
No. The $4M figure caps the loan, not the home. A $6M home can take out a jumbo; the maximum principal would be capped at $4M, leaving $2M of unencumbered equity. Cached copy that calls $4M a 'home value cap' is wrong.
Are jumbo non-recourse protections as strong as HECM's?
It depends on the lender. HECM non-recourse is statutory (12 USC §1715z-20) and federally backed by FHA insurance. For a jumbo, the protection is whatever the lender's note says: Longbridge states Platinum is non-recourse, Finance of America says HomeSafe borrowers or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when it is sold, and Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity page does not say. Either way, the protection rests on the lender rather than the federal government.
Sources
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22: 2026 FHA HECM lending limit ($1,249,125), effective Jan 1, 2026
- HUD Handbook 4000.1, FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook, Section II.B: HECM program requirements, MIP structure (II.B.10), counseling (II.B.4), financial assessment (II.B.6)
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2015-10: heirs' due-and-payable timing, 6-month redemption, extension procedure
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2015-15: eligible non-borrowing spouse protections (HECM only)
- 12 USC §1715z-20: statutory non-recourse protection for HECM borrowers
- Finance of America: HomeSafe product page (loans up to $4 million and minimum age 55 for certain products; 60 in MA, NY and WA, 62 in NC and TX; lump sum, monthly payouts, line of credit or a mix; fixed or variable rates; no mortgage insurance premiums; borrower or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when it is sold), checked 2026-10-07
- Longbridge Financial: Longbridge Platinum product page (loan amounts up to $4 million; age 55 in select states only; fixed-rate loans pay a single lump sum, other payout options adjustable-rate only; no mortgage insurance premiums; non-recourse), checked 2026-10-07
- Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: SecureEquity product page (loan amounts up to $4 million; lump sum or line of credit; as young as 55, higher in some states), checked 2026-10-07
- Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page (SecureEquity borrows up to $4 million; not insured by the FHA; no mortgage insurance premium), checked 2026-10-07
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2017-12: HECM initial MIP of 2% of the maximum claim amount and annual MIP of 0.5%
- 24 CFR §206.31: HECM origination fee limit (total may not exceed $6,000)
- HUD Handbook 7610.1, Rev. 6.1 transmittal (April 2024): 60-minute minimum HECM counseling session
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2011-09: HECM counseling fees (agencies set a reasonable fee and disclose it at intake; no fee is collected at the session from a client below 200% of the federal poverty level)
- Texas Constitution Article XVI §50(k)(8): the borrower and spouse attest in writing that they received counseling, completed 180 to 5 days before closing