mortgagereversal.co

Longbridge Platinum vs SecureEquity

Longbridge Platinum (Longbridge Financial) and SecureEquity (Mutual of Omaha Reverse) are two privately issued jumbo reverse mortgage programs, not FHA-insured, built for homes above the HECM lending limit; this page is a parameter card and names no "better" program.

Longbridge Platinum, from Longbridge Financial, and SecureEquity, from Mutual of Omaha Reverse, are two proprietary jumbo reverse mortgage programs. Jumbo reverse mortgages are privately issued, not FHA-insured, and built for homes worth well above the HECM lending limit. This page is a parameter card. The two programs are listed alphabetically and shown on their published terms; it is not a ranking, and no program is named as "better."

Last reviewed

How do Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity compare side by side?

| Parameter | Longbridge Platinum (Longbridge Financial) | SecureEquity (Mutual of Omaha Reverse) | |---|---|---| | Product type | Proprietary, non-FHA reverse mortgage, not affiliated with the HECM program (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | Proprietary reverse mortgage, not insured by the FHA (Mutual of Omaha, SecureEquity product page and jumbo calculator page) | | Issuer | Longbridge Financial LLC (NMLS #957935), a subsidiary of Ellington Financial Inc. | Mutual of Omaha Mortgage Inc., Mutual of Omaha Reverse division (NMLS #1025894) | | Minimum borrower age | As young as 55 in select states only; higher minimum ages may apply (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | As young as 55; some states set a higher minimum age (Mutual of Omaha, SecureEquity product page) | | Maximum loan amount | Up to $4 million; $2 million maximum in Massachusetts (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | Up to $4 million (Mutual of Omaha, SecureEquity product page) | | Payout modes | Lump sum (Platinum Fixed), or upfront cash plus a reusable line of credit (Platinum Line of Credit) (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | Lump sum or line of credit (Mutual of Omaha, SecureEquity product page) | | Interest rate type | A fixed-rate loan pays a single lump sum; other payout options are adjustable-rate only (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | Fixed and adjustable (ARM) versions listed (Mutual of Omaha, SecureEquity rate sheet effective September 9, 2026) | | Mortgage insurance premium | None (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | None (Mutual of Omaha, jumbo calculator page) | | Non-recourse | The lender cannot hold the borrower or heirs personally liable if the loan exceeds the home's value (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | Not stated on Mutual of Omaha's product page | | State availability | Not available in all states (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | Rate sheet lists approved states; Massachusetts and New York are not on it (Mutual of Omaha, SecureEquity rate sheet effective September 9, 2026) | | Equity preservation option | Platinum Preserve: set aside 10–40% of home equity for later needs or heirs, on certain fixed-rate products in certain states (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) | Not stated on Mutual of Omaha's product page |

Where do Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity differ?

Both lenders say their programs reach borrowers as young as 55 and that some states set a higher minimum (Longbridge Financial; Mutual of Omaha), so a borrower under 62 should confirm the age floor for their state with each lender. The clearer published difference is state coverage. Longbridge publishes a $2 million Platinum loan limit for Massachusetts. Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity rate sheet, effective September 9, 2026, lists its approved states, and Massachusetts and New York are not on it.

Payouts differ too. Longbridge pays a fixed-rate Platinum loan as a single lump sum; its other payout options are adjustable-rate only. Longbridge also offers Platinum Preserve, which lets the borrower set aside 10–40% of the home's equity for later needs or heirs, on certain fixed-rate products in certain states (Longbridge Financial). The exact mechanics live in the loan documents, and a borrower who wants to leave equity behind should read them closely. SecureEquity pays a lump sum or a line of credit, and Mutual of Omaha's rate sheet lists both fixed and adjustable versions (Mutual of Omaha).

What do Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity have in common?

Both lend up to $4 million (Longbridge caps Massachusetts loans at $2 million), neither charges a mortgage insurance premium, and both offer a lump sum or a line of credit (Longbridge Financial; Mutual of Omaha). Beyond those published terms, the distinction between these two programs lies in state coverage, the contract language, and the issuer.

How do you choose between Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity?

The row order is not a ranking. Start with state coverage, which can rule a program out: Massachusetts and New York are not on Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity rate sheet. After that, the choice usually turns on the payout a borrower wants, the quoted rate and margin, the contract language a borrower cares about, and how they weigh the two issuers. A HUD-approved counselor can run both against the same age and home value. The HECM-vs-jumbo guide covers when a federal HECM is the right screen first; running the home value and age through the reverse mortgage calculator shows what a HECM would return as the baseline. The full parameter cards are at Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity.

See methodology

FAQ

Do Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity have the same age rules?

Both lenders say their programs reach borrowers as young as 55 and that some states set a higher minimum (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page; Mutual of Omaha, SecureEquity product page). Neither product page names those states, so confirm the minimum for your state with each lender.

What does 'Preserve' mean in Platinum Preserve?

It names an equity set-aside. Longbridge says the option lets a borrower set aside 10–40% of the home's equity so that portion is preserved for later needs or heirs, subject to program terms and state availability (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page). The exact mechanics are in the loan documents.

Which program is better?

This page does not name a better program; it is a parameter card. The right choice depends on the borrower's state, the quoted rate, the contract language a borrower cares about, and how they weigh the two issuers. A counselor can model both against the same inputs.

Sources

  • Longbridge Financial. Longbridge Platinum product page, last verified 2026-10-07. https://longbridge-financial.com/reverse-mortgage/reverse-mortgage-products/longbridge-platinum/
  • Mutual of Omaha Reverse. SecureEquity product page, last verified 2026-10-07. https://mutualreverse.com/secure-equity/
  • Mutual of Omaha Reverse. SecureEquity brokered rate sheet, effective 2026-09-09 (approved-state list), last verified 2026-10-07. https://mutualreverse.com/wholesale/secure-equity-rates/
  • Mutual of Omaha Reverse. Jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page, last verified 2026-10-07. https://mutualreverse.com/mortgage-calculators/jumbo-reverse-mortgage-calculator/
  • HUD Single Family Housing Policy Handbook 4000.1, §II.B (Home Equity Conversion Mortgages, HECM comparison baseline). https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/housing/sfh/handbook_4000-1
  • HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22, 2026 FHA HECM lending limit. https://www.hud.gov/program_offices/administration/hudclips/letters/mortgagee
  • NMLS Consumer Access (issuer NMLS registration lookup). https://www.nmlsconsumeraccess.org