A jumbo reverse mortgage is a privately-issued loan used when a home is worth more than the federal HECM lending limit of $1,249,125 (HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22, effective January 1, 2026). It is not insured by FHA. The lender, not HUD, sets the terms. Proprietary jumbo programs on offer in 2026 include HomeSafe (Finance of America), Longbridge Platinum (Longbridge Financial), and SecureEquity (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage). A fourth, Equity Elite, stopped when Reverse Mortgage Funding paused all new loans and filed for Chapter 11 on November 30, 2022 (RMF first-day declaration, Bankr. D. Del.); pages that still list it are out of date.
Last reviewed
What is a jumbo reverse mortgage?
A jumbo reverse mortgage is a non-FHA reverse mortgage. It exists because the federal HECM program (the Home Equity Conversion Mortgage, the version most people mean when they say "reverse mortgage") caps its appraised-value calculation at $1,249,125. A home worth $1.6M, $2M, or $3M can still take out a HECM, but the loan calculation treats it as if it were worth $1,249,125, so a high-value home leaves equity on the table inside HECM. Jumbo programs were built to address that gap.
The terminology trips people up. "Jumbo" and "proprietary" mean the same thing in this market: a reverse mortgage issued by a private lender under that lender's own rules rather than under FHA's. Older industry copy and some aggregator sites still use "proprietary" exclusively; consumer search has moved to "jumbo." The product is the same.
What "jumbo" does not mean: it does not mean a higher home-value cap on the property. It means a higher cap on the loan. HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity each lend up to $4M (Finance of America, HomeSafe page; Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page; Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). The home itself can be worth more than $4M; the loan against it is what is capped. Cached marketing copy that calls this a "$4M home value cap" is wrong; verify against the lender's own product page.
HECM vs. jumbo: side-by-side
The comparison below is the centerpiece of this page. HECM parameters come from federal sources (HUD Handbook 4000.1, FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook, Section II.B; HUD ML 2025-22). Jumbo parameters come from the HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity product pages, checked 2026-10-07.
| Feature | HECM (federal) | Jumbo / proprietary (private) |
|---|---|---|
| Insurer / issuer | FHA-insured; HUD-regulated | Issued and held by private lender; not FHA-insured |
| Lending limit | $1,249,125 in 2026 (HUD ML 2025-22) | Loan cap up to $4M; home value uncapped |
| Minimum borrower age | 62 | As young as 55 in some states, set by each lender; HomeSafe requires 60 in MA, NY and WA and 62 in NC and TX (Finance of America, HomeSafe page) |
| Mortgage insurance premium (MIP) | 2.0% upfront + 0.5% annual on loan balance (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.10) | None |
| HUD counseling required | Yes; with a HUD-approved counselor, before the lender processes the application or charges any fee (HUD Handbook 4000.1) | Not stated on the HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum or SecureEquity product pages; ask the lender |
| Payout modes | Lump sum, line of credit, tenure, term, modified combinations | Lump sum or line of credit; HomeSafe also offers monthly payouts or a mix (each lender's product page) |
| Interest rate type | Variable common (tied to 1Y CMT or SOFR); fixed only available on lump-sum draws | Fixed or adjustable, by lender and option; a fixed-rate Longbridge Platinum loan pays one lump sum (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page) |
| Financial assessment | Required (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.6); credit, income, residual income | Required; lender-specific bar, usually lower documentation than forward mortgage |
| Non-recourse protection | Yes (federal statute, 12 USC §1715z-20) | Longbridge states Platinum is non-recourse; Finance of America says HomeSafe borrowers or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when it is sold; not stated on Mutual of Omaha's SecureEquity page |
| Heirs' redemption period after due-and-payable | 6 months, with up to two 90-day extensions (HUD ML 2015-10) | Lender-specific; commonly 6 months, varies by program |
Who qualifies for a jumbo

The eligibility floor for a jumbo reverse mortgage is set by three things: home value, age, and a lender financial assessment. Each one screens out a different population.
Home value. Jumbo programs are written for high-value homes. Lenders do not publish a hard floor, but in practice the programs make economic sense only when the home is worth more than the FHA limit; otherwise a HECM gives the borrower more cash relative to the upfront costs. Above $1.25M the jumbo math starts to dominate; above $2M it is usually the only option that captures meaningful equity.
Age. This is where the cached numbers are most often wrong. Jumbo programs can admit borrowers as young as 55 in some states, not 62. Each lender sets its own state exceptions:
- HomeSafe: minimum age 60 in Massachusetts, New York and Washington, and 62 in North Carolina and Texas (Finance of America, HomeSafe page).
- Longbridge Platinum: as young as 55 in select states only; higher minimum ages may apply (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page).
- SecureEquity: as young as 55, though some states set a higher minimum age (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page).
The youngest non-borrowing spouse rule from HECM (the eligible-non-borrowing-spouse protections under HUD ML 2015-15) does not transfer to jumbo. Each program handles spouse-protection terms in its own contract. A jumbo borrower with a younger spouse should review the specific program's non-borrowing-spouse language before signing.
Financial assessment. Jumbo lenders run a financial assessment similar to HECM's (HUD Handbook 4000.1, II.B.6). The bar is lower than a forward mortgage (there is no debt-to-income ratio gate the way Fannie Mae uses), but credit, residual income, and a tax-and-insurance payment history are reviewed. Borrowers with recent bankruptcy or active foreclosure are typically declined. Borrowers with thin credit files but stable property-tax history are typically approved.
When jumbo makes sense vs. when HECM is better
Neither product is "better." They cover different home values and different borrower profiles.
Jumbo fits when the home is worth well above the $1,249,125 FHA limit (the marginal equity captured by jumbo above the cap is the entire point); the borrower is 55–61 and ineligible for HECM on age grounds; the borrower wants to avoid the 2.0% upfront MIP and 0.5% annual MIP that HECM charges (jumbo carries no MIP); the borrower prefers a fixed-rate lump sum over HECM's variable-rate LOC structure.
HECM fits when the home is at or below the FHA limit (HECM uses the full appraised value up to the cap; there is no value left on the table); the borrower wants the line-of-credit growth feature (HECM's unused LOC grows at the note rate plus the 0.5% MIP rate, a structural feature jumbo programs do not replicate); the borrower wants the federal non-recourse protection in statute rather than in a private lender's note (12 USC §1715z-20 versus a contractual clause that is enforced via the lender's solvency); the borrower wants the HUD counseling step (jumbo lenders may require it but the counseling protections are weaker without the federal backstop); the borrower is in a declining market and wants the MIP-funded HUD insurance backstop if the loan balance grows past the home value.
There is no scenario where one product is universally correct. A HUD-approved counselor can run both calculations side-by-side using the same age and home value inputs and show which produces more net cash.
The programs available
Proprietary jumbo programs on offer in 2026 include the three below, listed in alphabetical order. Card detail pages are at the linked routes.
HomeSafe (Finance of America Reverse) lends up to $4M, from age 55, on certain products (60 in MA, NY and WA; 62 in NC and TX). It offers fixed or variable rates, with funds as a lump sum, monthly payouts, a line of credit or a mix (Finance of America, HomeSafe page). Full parameter card on the HomeSafe program page.
Longbridge Platinum (Longbridge Financial) lends up to $4M ($2M in Massachusetts), from age 55 in select states only. A fixed-rate Platinum loan pays a single lump sum; the other payout options, including the line of credit, are adjustable-rate only (Longbridge Financial, Platinum product page). Distinctive feature: the Platinum Preserve option, on certain fixed-rate products in certain states, lets a borrower set aside 10–40% of the home's equity for later needs or heirs (Longbridge Platinum product page). The terms are program-specific and worth comparing line-by-line against HomeSafe. Full parameter card on the Longbridge Platinum program page.
SecureEquity (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage) lends up to $4M, from age 55 (some states set a higher minimum), with funds as a lump sum or a line of credit (Mutual of Omaha Mortgage, SecureEquity page). Mutual of Omaha incorporated in 1909 (Mutual of Omaha company profile); the lender on the loan is Mutual of Omaha Mortgage. Full parameter card on the SecureEquity program page.
Equity Elite (Reverse Mortgage Funding) is discontinued. RMF paused all new loans and filed Chapter 11 on November 30, 2022 (RMF first-day declaration, Bankr. D. Del.). Pages on aggregator sites that still list it as a current jumbo program are out of date.
A side-by-side parameter comparison of HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity lives at jumbo reverse mortgage lenders. A dedicated HECM-versus-jumbo comparison is also available.
What this site's calculator estimates by default

The calculator runs in HECM mode by default and outputs a point estimate based on the HUD Principal Limit Factor table for the borrower's age and the expected rate in the rate field (HUD's table treats any expected rate below 3.0% as 3.0%). The H4P variant handles purchase scenarios in both HECM and jumbo modes.
When the calculator is run in jumbo mode, it does not output a point estimate. It outputs a bounded range from this site's own model, capped at the $4M loan limit that HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum and SecureEquity advertise, with the date that limit was checked shown inline. The reason is that jumbo parameters are not published by a federal authority (each lender sets its own), so a single dollar figure would imply a precision the underlying data does not support. For a binding jumbo number, request a quote from a specific lender or speak to a HUD-approved counselor.
See methodologyFAQ
Is jumbo the same as proprietary?
Yes. The two terms describe the same product: a reverse mortgage issued by a private lender under that lender's own rules, outside the FHA HECM program. Older industry copy uses 'proprietary'; consumer search has moved to 'jumbo.'
Can I get a jumbo at 55?
In some states, yes. Finance of America sets HomeSafe's minimum at 55 on certain products, but at 60 in Massachusetts, New York, and Washington and 62 in North Carolina and Texas. Longbridge offers Platinum from 55 in select states only, and Mutual of Omaha says some states set a higher minimum than 55 for SecureEquity. Ask each lender for your state's minimum.
What's the maximum loan amount?
Up to $4M at HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum, and SecureEquity, per each lender's product page (Longbridge caps Massachusetts loans at $2M). The home itself can be worth more; the $4M figure caps the loan, not the property. A home worth $6M with a 30% loan-to-value jumbo would draw $1.8M, well under the cap; a home worth $6M targeting the maximum draw would be capped at $4M.
Does jumbo require HUD counseling?
The HomeSafe, Longbridge Platinum, and SecureEquity product pages do not state a counseling requirement. Ask the lender before you apply.
Do jumbo reverse mortgages charge mortgage insurance like a HECM?
No. Jumbo loans carry no mortgage insurance premium (each lender's product page), while a HECM charges 2.0% of the maximum claim amount upfront plus 0.5% a year (HUD Mortgagee Letter 2017-12). The net cost comparison depends on home value, draw structure, and how long the loan stays open.
Sources
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2025-22: 2026 FHA HECM lending limit ($1,249,125), effective Jan 1, 2026
- HUD Handbook 4000.1, FHA Single Family Housing Policy Handbook, Section II.B: HECM program requirements, MIP, financial assessment
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2015-10: heirs' due-and-payable timing, redemption periods, extension procedure
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2015-15: eligible non-borrowing spouse protections (HECM only; does not transfer to jumbo)
- 12 USC §1715z-20: statutory non-recourse protection for HECM borrowers
- Finance of America: HomeSafe product page (loans up to $4 million and minimum age 55 for certain products; 60 in MA, NY and WA, 62 in NC and TX; lump sum, monthly payouts, line of credit or a mix; fixed or variable rates; no mortgage insurance premiums; borrower or heirs won't owe more than the home's value when it is sold), checked 2026-10-07
- Longbridge Financial: Longbridge Platinum product page (loan amounts up to $4 million, $2 million in Massachusetts; age 55 in select states only; fixed-rate loans pay a single lump sum; Platinum Preserve 10-40% equity set-aside; no mortgage insurance premiums; non-recourse), checked 2026-10-07
- Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: SecureEquity product page (loan amounts up to $4 million; lump sum or line of credit; as young as 55, higher in some states), checked 2026-10-07
- Mutual of Omaha Mortgage: jumbo reverse mortgage calculator page (SecureEquity borrows up to $4 million; not insured by the FHA; no mortgage insurance premium), checked 2026-10-07
- HUD Mortgagee Letter 2017-12: HECM initial MIP of 2% of the maximum claim amount and annual MIP of 0.5%
- Reverse Mortgage Funding LLC: Chapter 11 bankruptcy petition, U.S. Bankruptcy Court District of Delaware, case 22-11224 (RMF LLC, jointly administered under lead case 22-11225), filed Nov 30, 2022
- Mutual of Omaha: company profile and timeline (incorporated in 1909 as Mutual Benefit Health & Accident Association)
- Declaration of Tanya Meerovich, Chief Restructuring Officer, in support of the Reverse Mortgage Investment Trust Chapter 11 filings, Bankr. D. Del. case 22-11225, Doc. 45, filed December 1, 2022 (Equity Elite proprietary product since 2018; all new originations paused)